PEAK XOOPS - Meta tags and description in pico in englishin japanese

Meta tags and description in pico

  • You cannot open a new topic into this forum
  • Guests cannot post into this forum
Previous post - Next post | Parent - Children.1 .2 .3 .4 .5 .6 .7 | Posted on 2007/10/27 16:19
nitinshah12  伍長   Posts: 48
Is there a way to add custom meta tag and description to pages published by pico?
Votes:3 Average:6.67
Previous post - Next post | Parent - No child | Posted on 2007/10/27 20:49 | Last modified
gigamaster  三等軍曹 From: Geneva, Switzerland  Posts: 94
If you're using XOOPS Cube Legacy

1. you can set a specific theme to your module with preload

Otherwise...

2. You can edit your Theme

a)You can remove Meta "keywords" and "description" from your theme or place <{$xoops_module_header}> on top of it.

3. With Module Pico, Make a new content

Header [x] display the textarea

And overwrite with your own meta tags and description

<meta name="keywords" content="XOOPS,Module,piCal,myAlbum-P" />
<meta name="description" content="PEAK's XOOPS Support Site" />

As i'm updating xc.fr support site, you can check this online:

1. Go to http://www.hypergurl.com/form.html
2. Add the website url :http://xoopscube.fr/modules/workshop/index.php?content_id=126
3. Choose Spider Robots: GoogleBot
Check the result table!

W3C Markup Validation Service
> Validate the page <

Note

I suggest you to define a site plan on paper before you start workaround online.
If you plan to publish all sort of content, texte, photos, videos, audio, flash, quiz, etc.
You can build a stable structure and user-friendly interface with XOOPS Cube Legacy Pico + D3Forum
+ Extend it with FCKEditor (released by Gijoe)
+ Extend FCKEditor with KFM (ajax file manager)
+ Extend FCKEditor with spellchecker (here too)

++ Have Fun and enjoy your Life !

Votes:1 Average:10.00
Previous post - Next post | Parent - No child | Posted on 2007/10/28 3:03
nitinshah12  伍長   Posts: 48
the site i m working on is based on xoops 2.0.17
So any way to use meta tags and description in it.
Votes:1 Average:10.00
Previous post - Next post | Parent - Children.1 | Posted on 2007/10/29 1:26
gigamaster  三等軍曹 From: Geneva, Switzerland  Posts: 94
Start from point 2
Votes:1 Average:10.00
Previous post - Next post | Parent - Children.1 | Posted on 2008/2/8 22:37
nitinshah12  伍長   Posts: 48
i just observed something weired on checking my site with firefox for the meta tags displayed in the pico module. This is a part of the code generated in the head section that relates to meta data

<meta name="keywords" content="meditation exercise,breathing exercise,meditation,belly breathing,3 part breath,meditation by concentration on breathing" />

<meta name="description" content="This is the basic exercise where one meditates by concentrating on breathing" />

<meta http-equiv="Content-Script-Type" content="text/javascript" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Style-Type" content="text/css" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://makingdestiny.com/include/xoops.js">
</script>

<meta name="robots" content="index,follow" />
<meta name="keywords" content="the power of positive thinking, self-help, power of positive thinking, power of thoughts, stress, anger, fear, jealousy, depression, stress management, anger management, fear management, overcome jealousy, overcome depression, steps to positive thinking, develop positive thinking, meditation, affirmations, relaxation, creative visualization, imaging, thoughts, paying attention to thoughts, power of positive thinking in business, positive thinking in bussiness, vices management, positive thinking articles, self help articles" />
<meta name="description" content="Understand this concept and the ways to develop a positive attitude through affirmation, meditation, visualization etc to solve your business as well as personal problems like stress, anger, fear, depression etc and also understand how believing can help you achieve everything you want." />
<meta name="rating" content="general" />
<meta name="author" content="Nitin Shah" />
<meta name="copyright" content="Copyright © 2007" />
<meta name="generator" content="XOOPS" />

In the above the keywords and description is twice the first one is the one i set in the pico module using the tips of this thread and the second one is the default xoops description and keywords as set in the preferences in admin.

How should i correct this issue. please help. and also if it is possible to have the title of the content in the url.
Votes:1 Average:10.00
Previous post - Next post | Parent - No child | Posted on 2008/2/10 6:59 | Last modified
GIJOE  先任軍曹   Posts: 4110
Try to edit your theme.html

eg)
<{if ! strstr($xoops_module_header,"keywords")}>
<meta name="keywords" content="<{$xoops_meta_keywords}>" />
<{/if}>
<{if ! strstr($xoops_module_header,"description")}>
<meta name="description" content="<{$xoops_meta_description}>" />
<{/if}>

---------
(2008/02/14) fixed typo (missing !)
Votes:1 Average:10.00
Previous post - Next post | Parent - Children.1 | Posted on 2008/2/10 9:29
nitinshah12  伍長   Posts: 48
tried the code above but still no difference.

Maybe if you can help me with an if statement whereby if the module is pico or its clone then the theme will completely neglect the xoops meta data

i have zero coding experience by still will try to explain with an example and then if any one can let me know the right code.

<{if xoopsmodule=pico}}><{/if}>
<{else}><meta name="keywords" content="<{$xoops_meta_keywords}>" />
<meta name="description" content="<{$xoops_meta_description}>" />
<{/else}>

I m not sure about the right code its just an example to show that if the module is pico there will be no meta data of theme as i think that the pico header function creates the meta tags by itself without there being any connection to theme code. pls help me with the right code.
Votes:3 Average:3.33
Previous post - Next post | Parent - No child | Posted on 2008/2/10 9:45
GIJOE  先任軍曹   Posts: 4110
Perhaps, you don't know how to edit theme.html

check "Update module template .html files from themes/your theme/templates directory?"

Or remove template cache manually.
Votes:1 Average:10.00
Previous post - Next post | Parent - No child | Posted on 2008/2/11 16:25 | Last modified
nitinshah12  伍長   Posts: 48
ok, i have tried everything i could, edited the code, cleared templates_c in xoops root path manually, used the clear templates and cache function in xoopscare module, set check templates modification to on, still both the site wide meta data as well as the pico module meta data are visible. However when i remove the
<meta name="keywords" content="<{$xoops_meta_keywords}>" />
<meta name="description" content="<{$xoops_meta_description}>" />
from the theme, then only the pico module meta data is visible, but then meta data is only visible in pico module and there is no meta data in rest of the site and other modules.

I m using the zetagenesis theme the code for meta data is under the xometas.tpl
The changed code in this file is
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=<{$xoops_charset}>" />
<title><{if $xoops_pagetitle !=''}><{$xoops_pagetitle}> : <{/if}><{$xoops_sitename}></title>
<meta name="robots" content="<{$xoops_meta_robots}>" />

----------------->changed code<------------------------------
<{$xoops_module_header}>

<{if strstr($xoops_module_header,"keywords")}>
<meta name="keywords" content="<{$xoops_meta_keywords}>" />
<{/if}>
<{if strstr($xoops_module_header,"description")}>
<meta name="description" content="<{$xoops_meta_description}>" />
<{/if}>
-------------------------------------------------------------
<meta name="rating" content="<{$xoops_meta_rating}>" />
<meta name="author" content="<{$xoops_meta_author}>" />
<meta name="copyright" content="<{$xoops_meta_copyright}>" />
<meta name="generator" content="XOOPS" />
<{if $url}>
	<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="<{$time}>; url=<{$url}>" />
<{/if}>

<{if $isMsie}>
	<noscript>
	<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=<{xoAppUrl . xoops_theme_select=default}>" />
	</noscript>
<{/if}>

<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="<{$smarty.const.THEME_RSS}>" href="<{xoAppUrl backend.php}>" />

<link rel="shortcut icon" type="image/ico" href="<{xoImgUrl icons/favicon.ico}>" />
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="<{xoImgUrl icons/icon.png}>" />


<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" href="<{xoAppUrl xoops.css}>" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" href="<{xoImgUrl css/layout-soup.css}>" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" title="Color" href="<{xoImgUrl css/style.css}>" />

The code before modification was
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=<{$xoops_charset}>" />
<title><{if $xoops_pagetitle !=''}><{$xoops_pagetitle}> : <{/if}><{$xoops_sitename}></title>
<meta name="robots" content="<{$xoops_meta_robots}>" />

-------------------------------------------------------------
<meta name="keywords" content="<{$xoops_meta_keywords}>" />
<meta name="description" content="<{$xoops_meta_description}>" />
-------------------------------------------------------------

<meta name="rating" content="<{$xoops_meta_rating}>" />
<meta name="author" content="<{$xoops_meta_author}>" />
<meta name="copyright" content="<{$xoops_meta_copyright}>" />
<meta name="generator" content="XOOPS" />
<{if $url}>
	<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="<{$time}>; url=<{$url}>" />
<{/if}>

<{if $isMsie}>
	<noscript>
	<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=<{xoAppUrl . xoops_theme_select=default}>" />
	</noscript>
<{/if}>

<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="<{$smarty.const.THEME_RSS}>" href="<{xoAppUrl backend.php}>" />

<link rel="shortcut icon" type="image/ico" href="<{xoImgUrl icons/favicon.ico}>" />
<link rel="icon" type="image/png" href="<{xoImgUrl icons/icon.png}>" />


<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" href="<{xoAppUrl xoops.css}>" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" href="<{xoImgUrl css/layout-soup.css}>" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" title="Color" href="<{xoImgUrl css/style.css}>" />

-------------------------------------------------------------
<{$xoops_module_header}>
-------------------------------------------------------------

Is there something that i m doing wrong.
Votes:3 Average:3.33
Previous post - Next post | Parent - Children.1 | Posted on 2008/2/13 16:25
nitinshah12  伍長   Posts: 48
ok got it working
<{if strstr($xoops_module_header,"keywords")}>
<{else}
<meta name="keywords" content="<{$xoops_meta_keywords}>" />
<{/if}>
<{if strstr($xoops_module_header,"description")}>
<{else}>
<meta name="description" content="<{$xoops_meta_description}>" />
<{/if}

Thanks a lot.
Votes:1 Average:10.00
Previous post - Next post | Parent - No child | Posted on 2008/2/14 6:08
GIJOE  先任軍曹   Posts: 4110
hi nitinshah12.

It's my typo
I had missed "!" before strstr()

I've just fixed the code in [1.3.1.1]
Votes:1 Average:10.00
Previous post - Next post | Parent - No child | Posted on 2008/2/14 16:28
nitinshah12  伍長   Posts: 48
Its alright, and thanks again for the help.
Votes:1 Average:10.00

  Advanced search


Login
Username or e-mail:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!